Writing The Girl

Next Stop: Procrastination Station

I should be writing – but I am not.  I have come to the conclusion that I am avoiding my unfinished novels on purpose.

Nah – I’m just stuck at Procrastination Station.  I was on the track to finishing a project I started last November – but the train I boarded seems to have gone off the rails.  

Here’s the thing: I waste a lot of time surfing the internet for information I will never put to good use.  Today, for instance,  I Googled how to publish e-books and recipes for something called “chicken muffins”.  This is typical behaviour of a closet procrastinator.  I mask my avoidance of something I know I have to do by doing things I pretend are more important instead.

I should be writing.

Oh heck, who am I kidding?  My novel should be finished by now.  I haven’t even so much as opened the folder on my desktop that contains my incomplete manuscript.  Instead I’m looking up images of catfish and finding answers about the amount of time it take for a blade of grass to grow.

By the way, did you know the largest catfish ever caught was 9 feet long and weighed 645 pounds?  Crazy, eh?

It’s not like I haven’t tried to eliminate the incriminating factors:

I  have done the Facebook cleanse.  No more constant status updates for me! facebookisthedevil_2

I have detoxed from FeedDemon.  Talk about information overload…

I don’t even go near SparkPeople that much any more.  Meh – how many fitness articles can one person read in a day anyway?

And then there is Google.  This is the one constant thing that seems to be my biggest form of disengagement – whenever I have a spare moment and that little nagging thought that I should be working on finishing my “Work In Progress” pops up,  I smash it down.  I bury it at the back of the book shelf in my mind.  “Googling” something always becomes more… pressing.

What can I say?   I have always been one to ask a lot of questions.  Google is always there to provide the answers I seek.  Right there.  At my fingertips.

Yes, I banish productivity for endless curiosity fulfilment and superficial knowledge enhancement. One click leads to another suddenly my free time has vanished, leaving me to waive clenched fists in the air with a cry of “Damn you, Google!”  

Why?  The honest answer is….I don’t know why…I guess having a short attention span and the World Wide Web in front of you is not a good combination.  Especially when there is work to be done.

I need to prioritize.  I need to be more strict with myself.  I need get serious, disable to internet and concentrate.  I need to….unplug tantalising search engines!

hmmmm – that might not be such a bad idea…

Where is the off switch for procrastination, anyway?

Where is the off switch for the internet?

I want to know, dearest readers, fellow bloggers and seasoned writers…what is your advice on procrastination?  How on Earth do you block out the noise and allure of things around you and all that threatens to steal your productivity?

I should be writing.

This entry was published on May 24, 2013 at 7:48 pm. It’s filed under Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Next Stop: Procrastination Station

  1. im suposed to be paying attention in class right now!! procrastination

  2. I absolutely LOVE Google – my tagline for it is “Google knows everything!” Any time I hear someone ask a question that I don’t know the answer to I tell them, “Ask Google, Google knows everything.” It’s true and it can be VERY distracting!

    How do I avoid procrastination? Well, I’m not sure I’m the best one to tell, I certainly have been doing a lot of procrastinating lately with my revisions. Actually I’m not sure if I’m procrastinating or just stuck, but anyway what sometimes works for me is a reward system. Write for XX amount of time and then reward myself with XX (reading, surfing the web, ice cream … whatever reward is motivating enough). Doesn’t always work, but worth a try :)

  3. I wish I could give you an answer! Unfortunately, I sit here reading this when I am supposed to be studying…ugh… Procrastination.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,040 other followers

