Writing The Girl

Everything Is Not The Same {or, Weekly Writing Challenge: From Mundane To Meaningful}

Sleep gives way to morning.

This is not new.

I try, as much as I can, to hold on to Sleep – but no.  Sleep is slipping away from me.  Even with my eyes still closed, I can feel daylight making its grand entrance.  If the day is beginning, my ability to stay under the covers dissipates rapidly.

I open my eyes, as I do every day , and sigh.  As I do, everyday – especially on Monday…the dreaded start to the week.  Same old story, right after every Sunday…

Monday.

Always.

Except, this one is different.

I swing my legs over the side of the bed and force myself up into the position known as “sitting”, feet making contact with the floor.  I stand on still sleepy legs and stretch, numbly leaving my bedroom.

Same as I always do when I wake up….

But this morning my path is different.

The kitchen is not where it was the previous day. The coffee maker has also changed locations.  Luckily, I manage to find both.

When I finally make it out to the patio, caffeine, laptop and notebook in hand, I pause and survey my environment.

Again, I sigh.

All I want is something that has not changed.  My chair – at the head of the table.  It has not changed! – And there it is – waiting for me with open arms.  A soft place to land.  Such an odd feeling – doing the same sequence of events as they are done every morning…but in a completely different place.

This is my first morning in my new house, having just moved in the day before.  Everything I do is the same, but the setting is not.  The stage I am doing it on is completely different.

Routine can be fickle?  Routine can be warped?  Yes, it can.

I take my usual position at the table.  Coffee within comfortable reach of my left hand.  The screen on my laptop casting a soft glow, news feed telling me what I have missed in the rest of the world.

But wait.

The sun is coming up behind me now.  Before, in that place I used to call home, it rose in front of me.

The garden to my left is no longer dominated by Hostas and Beebalm.  Now it is full of Brown-Eyed Susans and Roses.

The pond has been replaced by a long row of Day Lilies, planted en masse, in a narrow sea of orange, yellow and white.  They, like me, are slowly, tentatively, greeting the day.

It is all foreign…every single detail within view.

Nothing will be exactly as I knew it for so many years before this morning.

Nothing.

Now I have work to do… with all of this new-ness.  I will carry on.  I will adjust.  I wonder about the mornings yet to come.  The years I will spend in this place.  The events that will shape my life.  The memories that will be created.  The words I will write while sitting on this patio.  The changes that will happen to me and to my family for as long as we call this place “home”.

With these thoughts, I am suddenly filled with optimism.

This day is not just a day. This morning is not just a routine.  This is a new chapter just getting started in a whole new book.

I understand that this current drama of feeling unfamiliar will cease to be.  That which is new right now, will soon become merely another fold in the fabric of what is widely known as day-to-day.

This day is the first day – and none that follow will hold such a title.

(Truly “Writing” The Girl today!  This is the first of a new weekly writing challenge hosted by the awesome folks at the Daily Post!  Maybe a bit more “wordy” than my recent posts…but wow – ! Awesome writing fun!!!)   

This entry was published on August 8, 2012 at 9:18 pm. It’s filed under Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

65 thoughts on “Everything Is Not The Same {or, Weekly Writing Challenge: From Mundane To Meaningful}

  1. your images and words go together very very beautifully. thanks for sharing!

  2. bface2face on said:

    I just sat down in my comfy chair and tapped on FP in hopes of finding a quick “good read” to savor along with my perfect cup of tea. Your photo caught my eye immediately… Probably because of the tea cup… And your post was exactly what I had hoped for. Thank you.

  3. Hello,Janice,
    This was so enjoyable and easy to read, it felt natural, real…
    The picture you created was so familiar to me, and I suspect even to those who haven’t experienced a move personally, simply due to how identifiable your written language is…

    Although I am very new at this wonderful new world of blogging, (having written my first official blog late last night), I pray to express myself with at least a portion of eloquence you do one day…

    Looking forward to reading more…

    Chantal…

    • Well, you’ve done an excellent job in expressing yourself with your comment – thank you for the lovely words. Good luck to you! Welcome to the world of blogging! On my way now to check out your site… :)

  4. With best wishes in your new home: a delightful insight into your story and a reminder not to take everyday things for granted.

  5. You have a great writing style. I love the way you describe the waking-up process and the dread of going back into a routine (things I’ve experienced myself), contrasted with the newness and the optimism of your new home.

  6. New home, new things to discover. Lovely post. :)

  7. kollshi17 on said:

    thank you

  8. Beautifully written. You captured exactly that feeling of a new place, and that strong urge to overlay your routine upon it, to make it yours. How will you change I wonder?

  9. Lovely post :D Good luck in your new home

  10. Congrats on being freshly pressed!!Great post!

  11. So glad I came across your blog. Wishing you all the best in your new home. Love your style of writing…

  12. Congratulations on ‘Freshly Pressed’. I love your blog it’s terrific. I am a follower now.
    I enjoy moving to a new place once everything is put away,and the hard work is done. You feel different like you are on an adventure, because you are out of your comfort zone. A new page in your book of life.
    Happy blogging
    cheers Judy
    judysp.wordpress.com

  13. Soon, you will wake in the night and stumble out of your room and down the hall to the kitchen, and realize you are at home, because you no longer have to think about it. You just know it.
    Lovely post… gave me a peaceful feeling, and reminded me that I really, really should go to bed now.

  14. amkclubtwo on said:

    that is a good statement that nothing is the same but that is not ture because someones love can be the same that they love someone else

  15. sparsilee on said:

    I really enjoyed this seemingly simple post. I was caught by the title and found myself being pulled through the rest of the piece. Also, the pictures are absolutely breathtaking. I’m by no means a professional photographer or even art connoisseur, but I personally really love them. Hope the new house is treating you nicely! I can’t wait until I move into my own place.

  16. I had a similar experience with moving recently, I love the optimism. It is such a good chance for that; like starting over. “In this new house, I will exercise more!” or so I thought… :)

  17. I love your writing style and the B & W pics are wonderful.

  18. A lovely post. It has a literature feeling. ;)

  19. Lovely writing! Congrats on being FP, and the new home!

  20. Beautifully written! This is something we can all relate to, for better or for worse. http://pezcita.wordpress.com/2012/05/20/my-childhood-home-i-see-for-sale/

  21. Excellent post … just dicovered you … invting you to peek into my blog, if you like … Love, cat. (http://catsruledogsdroole.blogspot.com/)

  22. dellasman on said:

    Let us know how the change of scene impacts your writing. I’ve been looking out from my desk at the same scene for 8 years now. Sometimes I think I need to put blinds in my window and close them to keep from being distracted.

  23. your blog is absolutely excellent! i hope the best to you at your new place :)
    Would you mind checking out my blog, its new and your feedback would mean the world to me! :)
    Thanks so much and love the posts!!

  24. What an adventure! I hate the work in moving, but love the adventure.

    Ghost.

  25. So glad I found this post via the zemanta links while writing mine. Your blog is excellent! I’m subscribing!

  26. leahJlynn on said:

    Lovely story, I love when a home is new but yet it’s equip with old new comforts along with some great sights hopefully. Makes you me want to say ahhh :)

  27. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: From Mundane to Meaningful | small house/BIG GARDEN

  28. Hey! I’ve got something for you on my blog! Good Day!

  29. Sweet and simple. I like that.

  30. Very nice – and all the best to you in your new home!

  31. Watch the shapes the shadows make in your new place…they tell different stories as will the changing colours outside your window. A chance to capture newness, embrace it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,038 other followers

