Writing The Girl

Gimme Balance

Yes, I am still working on my Dragon Fly images.

I just captured this one today.  The photo, I mean, not the actual insect!  I gave up on housework and spent an hour down by the water, chasing bugs with my camera.

Nature so easily achieves peace and balance, as this Dragon Fly is demonstrating.  As it came to rest on top of a reed, I was struck by how gently and quietly he sat – wings poised, body straight and long.

A moment in tranquillity.  An example of perfect balance.

Balance

This entry was published on July 11, 2012 at 10:12 pm. It’s filed under Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “Gimme Balance

  1. bentchilliphotography on said:

    I love this in BW !

  2. Have you ever come across a Luna moth? Such a beatiful creature, we have them in abundance here in Pennsylvania. The design on their back side is a lot like this dragon fly. You’re lucky to have gotten this shot! Amazing textures, you can almost feel their paper thin wings. :)

    • Thanks! Yes, I have seen exactly one Luna moth in my life. I was at my sister’s house in Atlanta…a Luna came to (briefly) rest on an outdoor lamp. Absolutely amazing. I still kick myself for not having my camera with me to get a photo of it.

  3. Oh wow! What a GREAT catch! Can be difficult with many bugs. Did you zoom in with a lens or was the little guy just still for you?

  4. I have a dragon fly on my blog, somewhere. I agree they strike the perfect balance. Beautiful photo!

  5. This is absolutely beautiful! I love the picture! I want a heavy duty camera so bad but they are so expensive.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,043 other followers

