Writing The Girl

In The Garden On A Friday Afternoon

The air is warm.  The sun is bright, but dappled on the leaves and ground in my garden. I take a deep breath, inhaling the rich combination of earth and new plant life.  From my seat on the small stone bench under the mountain ash tree, I can quietly and observe the butterflies and other critters the flit about on tiny legs or delicate wings.  The only sounds are the occasional song of a robin, and the ‘clicks’ of my shutter.

I am finally finished work for the week – it is Friday afternoon.  My laptop has been packed away; my cell phone is inside.  At long last I have ventured outside, camera in hand.  The garden beckoned me, inviting and cool.

It’s early in the growing season yet.  Around here, Mother’s Day weekend is considered to be the official kick-off of the gardening season – this is (hopefully) when we stop getting over night frost. I know that, at some point this weekend, I will don my gardening gloves and pick up my trowel to dig into my flower beds.

But not right now…now is the time to unwind and relax in the splendour of the shade garden on a warm Friday afternoon.

Stone Bench

Purple Blooms In The Sun

Speaks To Me

Lilly Of The Valley

Sun Dappled Leaves

Bird Bath

Through The Leaves

This entry was published on May 11, 2012 at 4:08 pm. It’s filed under Photo Essays, Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “In The Garden On A Friday Afternoon

  1. Pingback: Musings: In My Mother’s Garden… | Mirth and Motivation

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,038 other followers

